Central Lutheran Church and the MSO: 36 Years of Harmony 

Sunday, May 12 at 4pm
Central Lutheran Church
333 South 12th Street, Minneapolis, MN 

William Schrickel, conductor
Mark Sedio, organ
Dominick Argento, MSO Composer Laureate

George Frideric Handel – Organ Concerto in B-flat, Op. 4, No. 6
Sergei Prokofieff – Symphony No. 1 in D major (“Classical”)
Dominick Argento – Reverie—Reflections on a Hymn Tune
Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 36 

Mark Sedio, organ

Mark Sedio, organ

Dominick Argento

Dominick Argento, composer

For the season’s final concert, the MSO and William Schrickel recreate the orchestra’s first concert, presented at Central Lutheran Church in 1983 when the fledgling ensemble was known as the Central Chamber Orchestra. Mark Sedio is soloist in a Handel organ concerto and the orchestra performs two staples of the symphonic repertoire: Prokofieff’s virtuosic “Classical” symphony and Beethoven’s high-spirited Symphony No. 2. Added to this original program is Dominick Argento’s Reverie, an orchestral meditation on Ellacombe, a Lutheran hymn tune first published in 1784.