Symphony #102, Concerto #1, Overture 1812

Sunday, October 9, 2016 at 4pm
St. Andrew’s Lutheran Church
900 Stillwater Road, Mahtomedi, MN

William Schrickel, conductor
Takako Seimiya Senn, trumpet

Franz Joseph Haydn – Symphony No. 102, Hob. I:102 (The Miracle)
Eric Ewazen – Concerto No. 1 for Trumpet and Orchestra
Modest Mussorgsky – Introduction to Act I of Khovanshchina (orch. Rimsky-Korsakoff)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – 1812 Solemn Overture, op. 49

Takako Seimiya Senn, trumpet

Takako Seimiya Senn, trumpet

Music Director William Schrickel opens the MSO’s 35th season with one of Haydn’s most sparkling and witty symphonies, No. 102, referred to as The Miracle. Much of the audience at the 1795 premiere had left their seats in the center of the hall’s main floor to stand closer to the stage to better observe the 62-year-old composer, so no one was killed when a large chandelier broke loose during the performance and fell to the floor—a Miracle! MSO Co-Principal Trumpet Takako Seimiya Senn assumes center stage for contemporary composer Eric Ewazen’s dazzling Trumpet Concerto No. 1, composed in 1995. Following intermission, the MSO ushers in our season-long salute to Russian music with Mussorgsky’s gorgeous evocation of dawn on the Moscow River and Tchaikovsky’s magnificent 1812 Overture.

Read William Schrickel’s program notes for this concert.