From the New World – A Celebratory Return

Sunday, November 21 at 4pm
St. Philip the Deacon Lutheran Church
17205 County Road 6, Plymouth, MN
MSO Concert Protocols for November 21, 2021 Performance:
Proof of vaccination or negative COVID-19 PCR Test is required for all guests, including children.  Masks are also required and should be worn while in the building.  READ MORE

William Schrickel, conductor

Steve Heitzeg – Fanfare for Prairie Skies

Georges Bizet – Carmen Suite No. 1 –
Prélude/Aragonaise, Intermezzo, Séguedille, Les Toréadors

George Walker – Lyric for Strings

Antonin Dvorak – Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, op. 95, From the New World


Donations, Memorials & Honors listing

The Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra and William Schrickel open their season with Steve Heitzeg’s stirring Fanfare for Prairie Skies. Frenchman Georges Bizet’s Suite No. 1 from Carmen, the second most performed opera in the world, sparkles radiantly, and George Walker’s elegiac Lyric for Strings serves as the MSO’s memorial to the victims of social injustice and to those struck down by Covid. Antonin Dvorak, Bohemia’s greatest composer, wrote his ninth symphony while living in New York City. Subtitled From the New World and premiered in 1893, it is both a love letter to his native country from the homesick composer and a reflection of his fascination with the energy and the people of the United States.

George Walker
Steve Heitzig
The concert is free; donations are requested to help offset our costs.