Kevin Kling Channels the Brothers Grimm

Sarah Wright, Violin

Sunday, October 13 at 4pm
Roseville Lutheran Church
1215 Roselawn Avenue West, Roseville, MN

William Schrickel, conductor
Kevin Kling, narrator
Sarah Wright, violin
Victor Zupanc, composer

Victor Zupanc/Kevin Kling – The Twelve Dancing Princesses (MSO Commission – World Premiere)
Dmitri Shostakovich – Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, op. 77

The Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra and Music Director William Schrickel open the season by welcoming back author Kevin Kling to narrate the world premiere of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, Kling’s humorous setting of the Grimm brothers’ classic fairy tale with music by Victor Zupanc. The program concludes with MSO Solo Competition winner Sarah Wright performing Russian composer Dmitri Shostakovich’s dark and virtuosic Violin Concerto No. 1, written for David Oistrakh in 1948, then locked away by Shostakovich until the death of Joseph Stalin five years later.

Kevin Kling, narrator

Victor Zupanc, composer

Read William Schrickel’s program notes.

Click here for a concert poster download.