Nazaykinskaya Premiere, Mahler 5

Polina Nazaykinskaya
Polina Nazaykinskaya, composer

Sunday, March 29, 2020 at 4pmThis concert is postponed to Sunday, October 11, 2020.
We will perform the same program at the same location.
St. Andrew’s Lutheran Church
900 Stillwater Road, Mahtomedi, MN

William Schrickel, conductor
Polina Nazaykinskaya, composer

Polina Nazaykinskaya – Fenix (MSO World Premiere of Large Orchestra Version)
Gustav Mahler – Symphony No. 5 in C-sharp Minor

Russian-born Polina Nazaykinskaya’s Fenix is the fifth of her compositions to be performed by the MSO. Fenix, the Spanish word for phoenix, alludes to the mythological bird that undergoes a fiery death, then regenerates and rises from its own ashes. This afternoon’s performance is the world premiere of the composer’s new version of Fenix with expanded instrumental forces. Following the 1904 premiere of Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, the composer complained that “nobody understood it.” This massive work, a kaleidoscopic journey from darkness and tragedy to light and renewed life, is heralded today as one of orchestral music’s greatest creations.