Two Dances, An Opera, And Beethoven’s Fifth

MSO Concert Protocols for April 3, 2022 Performance:
Proof of vaccination or negative COVID-19 PCR Test is required for all guests, including children.  Masks are also required and should be worn while in the building.  READ MORE
Sunday, April 3 at 4pm
Saint Andrew’s Lutheran Church
900 Stillwater Road, Mahtomedi, MN

William Schrickel, conductor

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor —African Dance from African Suite, op. 35
Gioachino Rossini — Overture to La Gazza Ladra (The Thieving Magpie)
Polina Nazaykinskaya — Fenix (MSO World Premiere of Large Orchestra Version)
Ludwig van Beethoven — Symphony No. 5 in C minor, op. 67

Click here to read artist bios for this concert and William Schrickel’s program notes.

The Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra and Music Director William Schrickel explore the world of dance with performances of two works: African Dance, written in 1899 by Black British composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, and Fenix, a work by Polina Nazaykinskaya being premiered in its new revision. Rossini’s overture to La Gazza Ladra ushers the orchestra into the operatic sphere. The program concludes with the MSO performing Beethoven’s iconic Symphony No. 5, a work that opens with the four most famous notes in orchestral music and closes with a finale that features the first-ever use of trombones in a symphony.

Composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor
Composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor
Composer Polina Nazaykinskaya
Composer Polina Nazaykinskaya